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Tolkning af regel 49.1 
 
Allerførst skal det indskærpes, at regel 49.1 ikke forbyder besætningen at hænge. Der er 
derfor ikke nogen officiel tolkning af dette begreb. 
 
World Sailing har givet en tolkning af regel 49.1 i ”call book” for matchracing. Eftersom 
regel 49.1 ikke er ændret for matchrace er denne tolkning også generelt anvendelig. Den 
fuldstændige tekst findes efterfølgende, men de væsentlige pointer er: 
 

• Besætningsmedlemmer må gerne holde fast i et skøde, som er i brug (fx det læ 
fokkeskøde) for at flytte deres vægt udenbords. 

• Regel 49.1 forbyder ikke brugen af skøder og hal, som er i brug, til at flytte 
besætningens vægt udenbords. Den forbyder heller ikke brugen af vant og håndlister 
til dette formål. Skøder og hal som ikke er i brug, må derimod ikke anvendes (fx det 
luv fokkeskøde), ligesom man ikke må modificere udstyret, fx binde løkker på et 
skøde. 

• Det er tilladt at bruge anordninger og beslag som fx en løjgang til at hjælpe 
besætningen med at hænge, når disse beslag ikke er udformet til dette formål. 

 
 
World Sailing MR Call L3: 
Rule 49.1 Crew Positioning 
 
 
Question 1 
One crew member on Yellow holds on to the leeward jibsheet and another one holds on to 
the main sail sheet when hiking out. Does Yellow break rule 49.1? 
 
Answer 1 
No. A working sheet is not a device designed to position the body outboard. 
 
Question 2 
Does Yellow (a boat without lifelines) break rule 49.1 when the crew use any of the 
following to help extend their bodies outboard? 

The windward, non working, jib sheet; the barber hauler; the vang control 
line; the mainsheet traveller line; the backstay control line; the shrouds or 
other elements of standing rigging 

 
Answer 2 
Rule 49.1 does not prohibit competitors from using working sheets or control lines to 
position their bodies outboard.  
Unless specifically prohibited by the event’s sailing instructions (Rules for handling the 
boats) it is also permissible for competitors to use the shrouds or hand rails to position 
their bodies outboard. 
The use of lazy (non-working) sheets and control lines for hiking breaks rule 49.1. 
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Question 3 
The skipper on Yellow holds a foot under the traveller bridge. Does Yellow break rule 
49.1? 
 
Answer 3 
No. A traveller bridge is not a device designed to position the body outboard. Using the 
traveller bridge (or other fixed features of the boat) without modifications that aid 
projecting the body outboard is permitted. 
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